• You cannot add "BLAVET - Sonatas for flute and bass continuo" to the cart because the product is out of stock.
Un concert en Nouvelle-France by Arion ensemble with Richard Duguay

Un concert en Nouvelle-France


Arion ensemble
with Richard Duguay: tenor
1995, MVCD 1081

Here is re-created a concert that might have taken place in a residence of Quebec City, Trois Rivières or Montreal in the 18th C., with music by composers who are less well known today but were the most fashionable of their time: Pierre Février, Jean-Baptiste Quinault, Jacques Champion de Chambonnières, Jean-Joseph Mouret and others.

L’Ensemble Arion is on top of its game.  Both technically and musically this production is very beautiful and refined. There is such an ease and complicity in the playing that it is hard to put into words.   – François Tousignant, Le Devoir (Canada)

Product Description

Arion ensemble
with Richard Duguay, tenor

See the program notes here

Nicolas RENIER (? – 1731)
1-7 Cantate L’indifference punie, pour voix, symphonieet basse continue
(Cantates française…Livre premier, Paris, 1728; bibliothèque d’Étienne Cugnet).
Charles-Louis MION (1699 – 1775)
8-16 Suite de pièces instrumentales et de danse extraites de l’opéra Nitetis
Académie royale de musique,Paris, 1741; bibliotèque de François Mion).
 Pierre FÉVRIER (1696 – 1760)
 17-19  Cantatille Le besoin d’aimer pour voix, symphonie et basse continue
(Paris, 1734; biblioteque de François Mion).
 Jaques Champion de CHAMBONNIÈRES (1601 – 1672)
 20-24  Pièces de clavecin en sol du Premier Livre
(Paris, 1670; biblioteque de Guillaume de la Colombiêre Serré).
 Jean-Baptiste QUINAULT (1687 – 1745)
 25-30  Ouverture et danse extraites de la comédie Le Nouveau Monde de Simon-Jones Pellegrin
(Comédie française, 1723; biblioteque de François Mion).
 Jean-Joseph MOURET (1682 – 1738)
 31-36  Cantate Andromède et Persée pour voix, symphonie et basse continue
(Cantates françaises, Livre premier, Paris, 1729; biblioteque de François Mion).


Arion ensemble :
Claire Guimond, baroque flute
Chantal Rémillard, violin
Hank Knox, harpsichord
Betsy MacMillan, viola da gamba & baroque cello.

Richard Duguay, tenor

MVCD 1081.