Susanne un jour by Timothy Roberts

Susanne un jour


Timothy Roberts, harpsichord
250 anni di musica veneziana per il clavicembalo.
2004, EMCCD 7760

This new Timothy Roberts recording features works from what was, for centuries, Italy’s leading centre of keyboard music : Venice.
Thanks to Venice’s flourishing publishing trade, Mr. Roberts was able to nourish both his passion for research and the pleasure of playing this magnificent, luscious and yet subtle repertoire. The recording includes works by Andrea and Giovanni Gabrieli, Claudio Merulo, Adriano Banchieri, Giovanni Picchi, Bernardo Storace, Benedetto Marcello and Baldassare Galuppi. It was recorded at the Glynde Parish Church, England Sussex, in October 2003 on two harpsichords by Malcolm Rose, 2003, after Alessandro Trasuntino 1531 (Royal College of Music Museum, London).

Timothy Roberts offers up a vivacious and ‘compelling’ musical history lesson.
Laurence Vittes for The Gramophone (United Kingdom), May 2005.

Top-notch playing on a pair of very interesting historical recreations.
San Diego Harpsichord Society (USA), December 2004


Product Description

Timothy Roberts , harpsichord

See Program notes here.

250 anni di musica veneziana per il clavicembalo

1. Anon La Lodexana 1 :17
2. Anon De che le morta la mia signora 2 :21
3. Andrea Gabrieli (c. 1532-1585) Fantasia allegra 3 :16
Five Galliards from Intavolatura nova (1551)
4. L’herba fresca 1 :17
5. Lodesana 0 :48
6. Gamba 0 :44
7. Tu te parti 1 :03
8. Mezza notte 1 :03
9. Andrea Gabrielli Pass’ e mezzo 5 :05
10. Giovanni Gabrielli (1555-1612) Fuga del nono tono 7 :03
11. Claudio Merulo (1533-1604)
Toccata seconda del quinto tono (Book 2)
7 :03
12. Adriano Banchieri (1568-1634) Fantasia seconda 2 :19
13. Claudio Merulo Suzanne un jour 10 :20
14. Adriano Banchieri Fantasia nona 2 :40
15. Giovanni Picchi (fl.1600-1625) Pass’ e mezzo 7 :32
16. Bernado Storace (fl. 1664) Ciacona 6 :28
Benedetto Marcello (1686-1739)
Sonata in B flat major
17. Adagio 4 :15
18. Allegro 3 :05
19. Presto 2 :43
20. Baldassare Galuppi (1706-1785)
Sonata in E minor
4 :49


Sources of the music

1 & 2 Venice, Biblioteca Marciana, MS Ital. IV. 1227 (début 16e siècle / early 16th century).
3 & 9 A.Gabrieli, 3rd book of ricercari (1596).
4-8 Intavolatura nova di balli de sonare per arpichordi, clavicembali, spinette, & manichordii (1551).
10 MS copy by Matthias Weckmann, Berlin
11 Merulo, 2nd book of toccatas (Rome 1604).
12 & 14 Banchieri, Fantasie, overo Canzoni alla francese (1603).
13 Merulo, Canzoni d’intavolatura d’organo, book 3 (1611).
15 Picchi, Balli d’arpichordo (1621).
16 Storace, Selva di varie compositioni (1664).
17-19 British Library, Add. MS 30838.
20 Walsh edition, London c.1741, Op.2 No.3.

Editions published in Venice except where stated.

See more about The instruments here.

Timothy RobertsTimothy Roberts , Harpsichord
Timothy Roberts is an early-keyboard specialist, working as an accompanist, director or soloist on harpsichord, organ, fortepiano or clavichord in many areas of music from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century. He is principal keyboard player of The Gabrieli Consort and Players, appearing on many of their award-winning discs. He has toured widely with His Majestys Sagbutts and Cornetts whom he recently directed in an acclaimed Hyperion recording of Gabrieli’s 1597 Canzonas and Sonatas. In the field of Baroque and Classical song he has accompanied many outstanding singers including Emma Kirkby, Catherine Bott, Julia Gooding, Rufus Müller and John Mark Ainsley. Directing his own ensemble, Invocation, he has made a series of pioneering recordings of Georgian vocal music for Hyperion. His many recitals for BBC Radio 3 have ranged from Renaissance harpsichord works to sonatas by Mozart and by British composers, and he has twice been featured on the BBC’s ‘Spirit of the Age’ series.

Timothy was born in London, was a music scholar at Cambridge University and studied harpsichord at The Guildhall School of Music under the late Christopher Kite, and with Jill Severs. He has published numerous editions of early music, most recently with Oxford University Press.

Recorded at Glynde Parish Church, Sussex, England, October 2003.
Engineer and Recording producer : John Taylor.
Assistant producer : Suzanne Bradbury.
Tuning : Paul Simmonds.

© Malcolm Rose, tous droits réservés / all rights reserved Sous licence exclusive avec / Under exclusive license with : Les Productions inc. MMIV Fabriqué en Canada / Made in Canada.